Students Assessing Me

About a week ago, Annabelle Howard, someone I follow on Google+, wrote a post about allowing your students to assess you as a teacher. The post and discussion that followed can be found here. I thought this would be great since, now that my district will be using GAFE, this could be done easily and often through Forms.

Here is a link to what I came up with. I wanted to keep it simple and quick for students to complete. The questions I asked were:

  1. Name
  2. What am I doing in class that you like or that is helping you learn math?(Tell me at least 1 thing)
  3. What am I doing in class that you DON’T like or ISN’T helping you learn math? (Tell me at least 1 thing)
  4. What can I do better in my class to help you learn math? (Tell me at least 1 thing)

After I was finished, I laughed at the double standard. If you notice, I didn’t make any questions where students rated me on a scale of 1-10. I didn’t want to do this because, the numbers are so arbitrary, I wouldn’t really learn anything from them. Yet, the only feedback I’ve ever given students is a number. I also wanted students to tell me what I can do better, even if I’m already doing a good job. Again, this is different from my class in which I usually only give feedback to students who are failing about what they can do to learn the material. I never tell any other students what they can do to do better.

I’ve already had a great learning experience just from making the assessment. As I receive feedback from students, I’m sure I’ll learn even more. I’m going to encourage students and parents fill this out as often as they would like. I don’t want to wait until the end of a month or quarter before changing something that isn’t working for students. I’m giving parents the ability to fill it out because they may give a different perspective that will benefit me. Once I start receiving responses, I’ll post them along with any changes I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

