Mission 1: Just One Thing That Makes Me Unique

About a month ago, a Dan Meyer post rolled across Feedly that intrigued me greatly.  The post was entitled “Explore the Math/Twitter Blogosphere.” I had been reading things about the MTBoS lately, good and bad, but didn’t know enough to have any opinion. So, what better thing to do than to explore the MTBoS through “eight weeks of fun missions and prompts.”

My first prompt is:

  • What is one thing that happens in your classroom that makes it distinctly yours? It can be something you do that is unique in your school… It can be something more amorphous… However you want to interpret the question! Whatever!

There are some different things I am trying this year in my classroom. For example, the idea of “flipping,” cooperative learning, inquiry-based learning, and Common Core just to name a few. But the one unique thing about me that I am most proud of is doing this right here. I love writing about teaching. I look forward to any chance I get to reflect and discuss with other teachers from all over. As far as I know, I am the only teacher in my building, and possibly my district, that frequently writes blog posts. Sometimes I write about what is going on in my class, something new I’ve learned through Common Core, or something I’m just having an opinion on at the time. I enjoy participating in Twitter chats and discussing posts on Google+. While every other person I know is watching “Breaking Bad” or the newest movie or TV show, I’m reading about teaching or participating in a teaching chat or reading a book about teaching. If I were to be completely honest with you, I can’t get enough of it.

So, for my first  “Exploring the MTBoS” mission about what makes me unique, I’m doing the very thing that makes me unique. I’m taking part in a huge online group, discussing what I do and what others do, hoping to be a better teacher when I’m finished.

4 thoughts on “Mission 1: Just One Thing That Makes Me Unique

  1. It’s great that you’re sharing your passion online! I’m excited for the MTBoS “challenges” every week too and glad so many new people are participating! Can’t wait to explore your blog more. Thanks for sharing!

  2. While every other person I know is watching “Breaking Bad” … I’m reading about teaching or participating in a teaching chat or reading a book about teaching.

    You know the two are not mutually exclusive, right Andy? But I do get where you’re coming from.

    I’m curious about the good & the bad (& the ugly?) w/r/t the MTBoS. At times, I probably didn’t know if I was part of the MTBoS. I did know I was a math teacher who (occasionally) blogged? Is this along the lines of “the bad”?

    Looking forward to reading more.

    1. What I meant by good and bad was that I had read two posts recently from teachers who said they felt intimidated by MTBoS people. I was pretty sure that one of the posts was by Dan Meyer, but when I went back to his blog, I couldn’t find it.

  3. If you’re interested in inquiry-based learning, you might like Jo Boaler’s new website: http://youcubed.org/. (It’s still in the process of being fully populated, but they do have a few videos posted and you can sign up for updates.) I participated in her online class, How To Learn Math, which had lots of great ideas about improving the way we teach math, including using inquiry-based tasks.

    Your post made me wonder if any of the math teachers I know have a blog. I’ve certainly never met anyone else who has a math blog. I’m so glad we have this forum for our writing!

    Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

